Ending the stigma

Just a quick one folks. This article reckons 2014 is the year that is going to end the mental health stigma. Have a read and let me know your thoughts. Have you seen evidence of it?

http://www.theguardian.com/science/brain-flapping/2014/dec/19/2014-mental-health-stigma-end

My experiences have been pretty mixed. I feel abandoned by some friends and supported by others. I still notice a marked awkwardness in the room if I mention my issues but I feel people are trying to understand. My most humiliating moment was earlier this year when I went to boss when I was employed, to explain that I was struggling and she told me I was “mentally weak” and I was allowed to leave that day…and not come back.

That said, my issue has mostly been with some health care professionals themselves…but that’s for another blog.

Leave a Reply

