Mental Health Awareness Week

Today marks the start of Mental Health Awareness Week – so come on folks – get talking.

https://www.mentalhealth.org.uk/campaigns/mental-health-awareness-week

There are plenty of us out there with mental illnesses and so many people are made to feel ashamed because of it. Well, it’s time to stop that. Please. Be compassionate. Be empathetic. Try to understand what someone is telling you. If someone seems sad, ask them why. If someone seems lonely, give them the time of day. If someone seems scary to you – maybe try to understand what is causing them to behave like that. We’re all people. We all do stupid things and we all struggle with the burden of our own thoughts. Some just more so than others.

This week I’m trying so hard to battle my ‘problems’. OK, it’s not something to be ashamed of but I want to be responsible for myself. I want not to hurt people and I want not to hurt myself. It’s hard to admit it but maybe I want to be happy and maybe that’s OK. So that means really focusing on my BPD – why it’s there and how I can learn to live with it better. It means not wallowing in it and taking control – owning my feelings and learning from my past.

Fancy joining me?

71e68b2a4a34de37a42bdeba569501fa

 

5 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness Week

Leave a Reply

